The 11th Annual

Louise Wetherbee Phelps



The Louise Wetherbee Phelps Awards recognize excellence in the Writing Program studios. The award includes a prize for $50. All Intertext authors are considered for this award, and submissions are based on the following criteria:

  • demonstration of depth, complexity of thought, and technical control
  • intellectual or emotional appeal to readers
  • representative of the goals of the Writng Program
  • written for a Writing Program undergraduate course and accepted for publication by Intertext


This year’s Louise Wetherbee Phelps Awards Judges:

    • Susan Adams
    • Maureen Fitzsimmons
    • Christine Ramsey
    • Vivian Rice
    • Eileen Schell
    • Eileen Strempel

This year's Louise Wetherbee Phelps Award Winner:

Honorable Mention: